Skip to content

Listen~Reflect~Meditate~

January 13, 2011

The past several months have been fruitful and there is an increasing hunger in me to listen, reflect, and meditate. I would like to share with you some ideas that have inspired me during this time that I’ve not been publishing my thoughts.

“Vedanta asks you always listen, reflect, and meditate; this is a necessary for living a spiritual life.”

Swami Chetanananda mentioned this several weeks ago during one of his Sunday talks.

As I listened, and reflected, and meditated I came to realize that I was splintering my attention and energy. Around the same time I came across a blog post that gave simple but practical advice on how to focus your energy in order to unveil your purpose, life’s work, or as the article itself articulated it, work that ‘suits you.’ The writer suggested to spend some time in reflection and inquiry in an effort to identify the three elements that matter most to you and to then make a Venn diagram with each element listed in one of the three circles. I came up with this:

Due North

I printed the image and hung it on my refrigerator. Every day, several times a day I look into the center of that diagram and it feels as if I am plugging into an infinite source of energy, inspiration, and awakening. The more I focus on the center, the more I seem to notice or make connections that bring me into closer contact with that center. For example,

“At the heart of all practice lies noticing: noticing an opportunity to act appropriately. To notice an opportunity to act requires three things: being present and sensitive in the moment, having a reason to act, and having a different act come to mind.” John Mason

and,

“Now, as never before, all of education needs to be concerned about the question of what it is to be human and how formal curriculum can facilitate the exploration of that question so as to prepare learners to participate in social change, political economic reconstruction, cultural transformation, and consciousness” Betty Reardon (my emphasis)

and perhaps most radically, here is a statement taken from Dale Snauweart’s presentation Cosmopolitan Ethics and Being Peace in which he states that learning requires:

“various techniques of awakening to one’s one Self-awareness.”

I am grateful for this Union. Hari Om Tat Sat.

If you were to make a similar diagram, which three elements would you choose?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

